Specialty Designations

The CEBS® program offers candidates the opportunity to earn three specialty designations:   Group Benefits Associate (GBA), Retirement Plans Associate (RPA) and Compensation Management Specialist (CMS). The GBA and RPA and CMS recognize the three primary areas of specialization within total compensation—group benefits and retirement, and compensation management.  The GBA, RPA, and CMS designations require successful completion of three examinations within the CEBS curriculum. Similarly to the CEBS designation, the GBA,  RPA, and CMS designations are awarded by the International Foundation of Employee Benefit Plans and the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania.

Complete these three courses:
GBA 1 — Group Health Plan Design
GBA 2 — Group Benefits Management
GBA 3 — Health Care: Financing, Quality, and Reform


Complete these two courses: 
RPA 1 — Retirement Plan Design
RPA 2 — Retirement Plan Management

Plus one of these courses:
RPA 3 — Asset Management
RPA 4 — Personal Wealth Management


Complete these three courses:
CMS 1 — Human Resources and Compensation Management
CMS 2 — Compensation Concepts and Principles
CMS 3 — Executive Compensation



University of Pennsylvania Logo
Copyright © 2016 The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania